Day 31

The day is here.

I thought I’d be ready to gorge on meat all day, but to be honest I don’t really care too much. I might eat meat today or tomorrow or Monday or Tuesday, might not.

I did weigh 14 stone 12 pounds, and now I’m down to 14 stone 2 pounds – and all I’ve really done is cut out meat. I’ve still been eating chocolate and rubbish like that from time to time, and also been out for a few runs.

Before this pescatarian challenge I was suffering with really bad indigestion, and this has completely cleared up over the past 3 weeks, which is great.

In your face Indi!

The most important thing i’ll take away from this experience is my perception of meat as a food source. If I fancy some meat in the future, then I’ll have it; but I won’t be using it as the basis for every meal as I did before. I heard someone say the other day; I think it was my sister, that if we had to individually slaughter the animals we eat, how many people would still eat it?

I know I sure as hell wouldn’t!

This morning, I watched a short talk on TED by Matt Cutts; it’s called Try something new for 30 days! 

It’s a great watch, and just shows that if you want to change something in your life, then just do it for 30 days initially – no tv for 30 days, no alcohol for 30 days, no chocolate for 30 days or whatever  – then if it changes your life for the better, great continue; if it doesn’t, then just go back to how it was before.

Simple!

It worked with me and meat, I loved the challenge, and it was great having to put some thought into my meals. Yes, it was difficult at times, for instance trying come up with a meal on impulse; but that will all change as my knowledge of vegetarian cooking increases.

Perhaps I’ll do a no bread for 30 days challenge next. Don’t worry, I wont bore you with that – or maybe I will.

Anyway, I made baked beans in the slow cooker – just chuck the ingredients in overnight and you have a lovely homemade treat to wake up to in the morning. I’ve been wanting to do this for ages, so out I went to get some new batteries for the fire alarm (can’t be too careful, health and safety nation) and as I was sleeping soundly in bed the beans were bubbling away to perfection.

One thing’s for sure, I’ll think hard before I buy a tin of beans again. It’s just as easy to make a big batch of these; which will last in the fridge for a couple of weeks or freezer for a few months.

 

Homemade Baked Beans

Ingredients                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   20140810_220414

  • 2 onions (thinly sliced)
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 400g tins of chopped tomatoes
  • 200ml of stock (any kind)
  • 2 x 410g tins of either; cannellini, butter or haricot beans in water (drained)
  • meat eaters add either streaky bacon or chorizo
  • non meat eaters add paprika or anything you feel will give smokiness (I did this)

Method

  1. fry the onion, bacon or substitute for 5 – 10 mins until the onions are soft.
  2. Stir in the sugar, tomatoes and stock. Season to taste at this point, and simmer for 5 mins
  3. tip it all in the slow cooker and stir in the beans.
  4. cover with the lid and cook on low overnight for up to 9 – 10 hours.

I had it with toast and a fried egg, just what you need on a Sunday morning. You can also experiment with other ingredients, maybe add some fresh chilli or replace a tin of tomatoes with barbecue sauce – the possibilities are endless!

Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

