Day 21

Four days have passed since my last post, partly because I’ve been busy, partly because I’ve been addicted to  Game of Thrones!

As I write this, all I can think about is eating a big slab of meat. This is the first time I’ve had a massive craving since I started this pescatarian challenge.

I had a vegetarian club sandwich at Capers for lunch, usually I have the club sandwich, which is  crammed with chicken and bacon. I honestly think I prefer the vegetarian club – which had goats cheese, avocado, lettuce, tomato and humus. And once again, I’d never have ordered it off the menu if I was a meaty!

Anyway, the food I’ve re-introduced to my diet is  Nut luncheon. I say re-introduced because I used to have it when I was  living at nuttolene2 home. It’s a meat-free savory loaf made from peanuts. It can be grilled or eaten cold, and it’s really nice in sandwiches, or as I had the other day – with scrambled eggs.

I think it’s an acquired taste. I remember on many occasions friends would say:

“what you got in your sandwiches, ay?”

“nut loaf'” I’d reply

“Lets have a try!”

After gnawing on a piece of my lunch, one of two things would happen:

  1. the nut loaf would be spat in the bin
  2. the nut loaf would be swallowed, and ‘that’s weird’ would be uttered.

I can’t remember anyone saying “that’s a beaut!”

But is is, honestly!

So go on, give it a try.

 

Leave a Reply

