Day 14

Still not craving meat on a grand scale.

I’ve noticed every now and then a weird thought will come to me like:

Shit, did I eat meat earlier?

I can’t explain it, but it really feels like I’ve eaten meat, and it’ll take me a few minutes to think back on previous meals to make sure they were meatless. It’s such a strange feeling!

Anyway, woke up this morning with a few things to do:

  1. Buy a fan
  2. do some housework
  3. get some lentils

It wasn’t long before I forgot about the housework, and quickly came up with some excuse about the weather, heat, blah, blah, blah. So, after I completed the other two tasks on my list I started to think about lentils, and how I never really use them –  apart from in soups.  This sketch from the Young Ones kept coming back to me:

After watching that I decided to make a lentil loaf or pie, whatever you want to call it really. Here it is:

Ingredients

  • red lentils (225g)                                                                                                                                                           20140724_214454
  • water (450ml)
  • 1 large onion
  • butter (25g)
  • cheese, grated (100g)
  • mixed herbs (1tbsp)
  • 1 egg
  • breadcrumbs (25g)
  • fresh chilli (chopped)
  • salt and pepper (to taste)

Method

Cook the lentils in the water until soft, approx 15 mins.

Then, fry for a few minutes and melt the butter. After that, combine all ingredients into a bowl and mix well.

Add the mixture to a loaf tin or cake tin and bake on gas mark 5 for 30 mins.

 

Admittedly, it’s not as aesthetically pleasing as I’d hoped –  but it tastes bloody lovely.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

