Day Seven

Nuts.Seeds.Raisins.Bananas.Yogurt.Water.

No, I’m not just a bumbling mess, this is what I snacked on during my 11 hour shift at work today. It’s a good achievement,  as all I could think about was gorging  myself on expensive crisps and cheap chocolate.

I have to say, snacking on ‘healthy stuff’  throughout the day has given me much more energy. I’d usually get in after an 11 hour shift at around 10pm and just crash out; but I’m writing this at 11:34 and don’t feel a little bit tired.

Maybe it’s the change of diet that’s giving me more energy. Maybe not.

Anyway, for my main meals today I ate porridge in the morning, egg tomato and onion salad for lunch, and a quick Italian pasta dish when I got home from work.

I love this pasta dish as it’s quick, simple and really tasty. It’s taken from Antonio Carluccio’s book called Simple Cooking, and is said to be one of the most popular recipes for native Italians;

Spaghetti with garlic, oil and chili (serves 2)                                                                                                        Antonio Carluccio's Spaghetti with Garlic Oil and Chilli

  • 100g of spaghetti
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 small red chilli, finely chopped
  • 6 tbsp olive oil

All you have to do is cook the spaghetti in boiling water, and when it’s nearly done, fry the garlic and chilli in the olive oil for a few seconds. Drain the pasta, and mix it in the pan with the garlic and chilli sauce. Add a little bit of the pasta water to help coat the spaghetti in the sauce.

If it is a bit too bland for your taste you can add anything you like to this dish. I usually add onion, fresh basil or mint and sometimes crumble a fish fillet into the pasta, it just depends how much time you have.

I saw loads of people eating this when I went to Rome and remember mumbling to myself,  ‘what the hell-kinda muck is that!’ but now I’,m eating my words, and love the simplicity of the dish.

Leave a Reply

