Day Four

tofu-mainI had my first experience of tofu today, well I can’t just get by on Quorn products can I?

I really want to like tofu because the health benefits are great; with 70 calories and 3.5g of fat per 100g.  It’s also  a great source of protein, and is said to help lower levels of bad cholesterol (LDL).

Check out this Good Food article for more information. 

With all those health benefits, I thought it must be expensive, but it wasn’t. I got a 396g pack from Salisbury’s for £2. Somethings not right, I thought to myself. 

 

Tofu can be cooked in many different ways, so – after searching through the kitchen cupboards for ingredients – I decided to make tofu & vegetable patties, as they only need a few basic ingredients; as follows:

1 carrot, spring onions, 1 garlic clove, 3cm piece of ginger, 2 eggs, oil and chilli sauce. (click here for full recipe)

tofu

I was ready for a taste explosion, but it wasn’t long (one bite in fact) before I was disappointed. They were pretty bland, and rubbery; which could be down to the way I cooked them, seasoning ect.

With the chilli sauce smothered on top they were bearable,  but I wouldn’t cook them again.

Maybe it’s the tofu. Like I said earlier, there’s many different ways to cook it to get different textures. It’s also available smoked or marinated, so I’ll try those another time.

I shall not be defeated by tofu. I will make it part of my pescatarian diet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

